Contact elected officials

In 2007, Greenfield parent Gretchen Cowell, JS Jenks parent Karen Aves and Powel parent Helen Gym met with City Councilman Wilson Goode, Jr. around supporting his plan to re-allocate dollars for the public schools. (Photo: Philadelphia Public School Notebook)

When it comes to city issues like the annual approving of school budgets or statewide legislation, one of the easiest and most  helpful ways to start is by phoning elected officials and letting them know our opinions.  The call should only take a few minutes. Most legislators keep a log of phone calls and pay attention to which issues generate real citizen input.

Use the Committee of Seventy’s legislative locator to help you find your city, state and national representatives:

Use this School by school legislative directory to find which elected officials serve your school.


* indicates the legislator is a member of their body’s Education Committee

City of Philadelphia
Mayor Michael Nutter (D) 215-686-2181
Lori Shorr, Dpty Mayor Education   215-686-0333

City Council Members-at-Large (elected citywide)

*W. Wilson Goode, Jr. (D) 215-686-3414
Ed Neilson (D) 215-686-TBD
*William K. Greenlee (D) 215-686-3446
James F. Kenney (D) 215-686-3450
*Blondell Reynolds Brown (D) 215-686-3438
*David Oh (R) 215-686-3452
Dennis O’Brien (R) 215-686-3440
District City Council Members 
Darrell L. Clarke, President (D) 215-686-3442
*Mark Squilla (D) 215-686-3458
Kenyatta Johnson (D) 215-686-3412
*Jannie L. Blackwell (D) 215-686-3418
Curtis Jones, Jr. (D) 215-686-3416
Bob Henon (D) 215-686-3444
*Maria Quiñones-Sanchez (D) 215-686-3448
Cindy Bass (D) 215-686-3424
Marian B. Tasco (D) 215-686-3454
*Brian J. O’Neill (R) 215-686-3422
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Governor Tom Corbett (R) 717-787-2500
State Senators 
Lawrence M. Farnese, Jr. (D) 215-560-1313
Christine Tartaglione (D) 215-533-0440
Shirley M. Kitchen (D) 215-227-6161
Michael J. Stack, III (D) 215-281-2539
Vincent J. Hughes (D) 215-471-0490
LeAnna Washington (D) 215-242-0472
*Anthony Hardy Williams (D) 215-492-2980
State Representatives
Louise Williams Bishop (D) 215-879-6625
Brendan F. Boyle (D) 215-676-0300
Kevin J. Boyle (D) 215-331-2600
Vanessa Lowery Brown (D) 215-879-6615
Michelle F. Brownlee (D) 215-684-3738
Mark B. Cohen (D) 215-924-0895
Angel Cruz (D) 215-291-5643
Lawrence H. Curry (D) 215-572-5210
Pamela A. DeLissio (D) 215-482-8726
Dwight Evans (D) 215-549-0220
Babette Josephs (D) 215-893-1515
William F. Keller (D) 215-271-9190
Michael P. McGeehan (D) 215-333-9760
Thomas P. Murt (R) 215-674-3755
John Myers (D) 215-849-6592
*Michael H. O’Brien (D) 215-503-3245
Cherelle L. Parker (D) 215-242-7300
Tony J. Payton Jr. (D) 215-744-7901
*James R. Roebuck (D) 215-724-2227
John P. Sabatina Jr. (D) 215-342-6204
John J. Taylor (R) 215-425-0901
W. Curtis Thomas (D) 215-560-3261
Ronald G. Waters (D) 215-748-6712
Rosita C. Youngblood (D) 215-849-6426
U.S. Congress
Senator Patrick Toomey (R) 215-241-1090
*Senator Robert Casey (D) 215-405-9660
Rep. Chaka Fattah (D) 215-387-6404
Rep. Robert Brady (D) 215-389-4627
Rep. Allyson Y. Schwartz (D) 215-335-3355
Rep. Michael Fitzpatrick (R) 215-579-8102